Gwénaël

Gwenaël Grisi

From his childhood, Gwenaël Mario Grisi has been fascinated by the music of the films he watched. this is what pushed him to pursue a composer’s career. After his studies of scoring (with Denis Pousseur and Jean-Luc Fafchamps), Writing (with Jean-Pierre Deleuze) and Composition (with Claude Ledoux), he has increased his knowledge of film music with Hollywood masters such as Christopher Young and Conrad Pope.

His composer’s odyssey is stacked with outstanding events, such as receiving the [‘Tactus]’ prize at 21 years old with his work « Di Polvere a Polvere » for orchestra, being in residence with the Liege Royal Philharmonic, receiving a major composer role at Musicom, and working closely with renown music players of the contemporary scene.

His compositions have been recorded at AIR Studio (London), Abbey Road (London), Studio 22 (Budapest), Flagey (Brussels), etc. by different ensembles, notably, the Britain’s National Orchestra, the Brussels’ Philharmonic Orchestra, the Liège Royal Philharmonic, the Budapest Symphony Orchestra, the European Contemporary Orchestra, Sturm und Klang, and so on.

We find his music being played at several Belgian festivals, such as the Festival Loop, Ars Musica and the Film Festival Gent, to name a few.

His catalogue includes works for solo instruments, chamber music (duos, string quartet, sax quartet, hybrid ensembles,…), orchestra (Di polvere a polvere, Through the clouds,…) and for orchestra with soloist (Adventures, Excursions, On the reel,…).

Apart from his composition activity, he has been wearing several different hats of the music production as well. He worked as orchestrator, assistant, consultant and booth reader on different movies, for the cinema (Asterix ; Minuscule 2, Etc.), for TV-Series (Call The Midwife ; Demain Nous Appartient ; L’art Du Crime ; Etc.) and shorts (Adorables ; La Dernière Vie De Simon ; The Illegal ; Etc.)

His passion for music has led him to teach his knowledge. He has been a professor at the Evere’s academy from 2015 to 2017 and at the Royal Conservatory of Brussels from 2017 to 2018.

www.gwenaelgrisi.com

Gwénaël

Gwenaël Grisi

Dès son enfance, Gwenaël Mario Grisi est captivé par la musique de film, ce qui le poussera à entamer une carrière de compositeur. Après des études de musique à l’image chez Denis Pousseur et Jean-Luc Fafchamps, d’écritures classiques chez Jean-Pierre Deleuze et de composition chez Claude Ledoux et Gilles Gobert au Conservatoire Royal de Mons, c’est auprès de maîtres Hollywoodiens qu’il a étoffé ses connaissances de la musique du septième art, notamment avec Christopher Young et Conrad Pope.

Son odyssée de compositeur est jalonnée d’évènements marquants, tels qu’un prix [‘Tactus] à 21 ans pour sa pièce « Di Polvere a Polvere », une résidence avec l’Orchestre Philharmonique Royal de Liège, un rôle majeur de compositeur chez Musicom,  ainsi que des collaborations étroites avec différents interprètes de la scène contemporaine.

Ses compositions ont été enregistrées à AIR Studio (Londres), Abbey Road (Londres), Studio 22 (Budapest), Flagey (Bruxelles), etc. par différents ensembles, notamment le Britain’s National Orchestra, le Brussels Philharmonic Orchestra, L’Orchestre Philharmonique Royal de Liège, le Budapest Symphony Orchestra, l’European Contemporary Orchestra, Sturm und Klang et bien d’autres.

On le retrouve notamment joué durant des festivals belges tels que le Festival Loop, Ars Musica et le Film Festival Gent.

Son catalogue comprend des pièces pour instrument seul, pour musique de chambre (duos, quatuor à cordes, quatuor de saxophones, ensembles hybrides,…), pour orchestre (Di polvere a polvere, Through the clouds…) et pour orchestre avec interprète concertant (Adventures, Excursions, On the reel,…).

En-dehors de son activité de compositeur, il a endossé d’autres casquettes au sein d’équipes de création musicale pour le petit et grand écran, notamment le rôle d’orchestrateur, d’assistant, de consultant et de booth reader, allant de films pour le cinéma (Asterix ; Minuscule 2 ; Etc.), à des séries télévisées (Call The Midwife ; Demain Nous Appartient ; L’Art Du Crime ; Etc.) jusqu’à des courts-métrages (Adorables ; La Dernière Vie De Simon ; The Illegal ; Etc.)

Sa passion pour la musique l’a naturellement conduit à l’enseigner. Il a été professeur d’écritures à l’académie d’Evere de 2015 à 2017 et professeur assistant d’écritures au Conservatoire Royal de Bruxelles de 2017 à 2018.

 

www.gwenaelgrisi.com