Christian Klinkenberg

Christian Klinkenberg

Christian Klinkenberg (born 1976) is a composer of new music and a multimedia artist. His artistic interests stem from contemporary composition concepts, jazz and improvisation.

Klinkenberg's compositions have been performed by ensembles across the European Union and in the United States. 

In 2001 he founded his own ensemble "Christian Klinkenberg Orchestra" and is a member of the East-Belgian based ensemble “KL-EX”.


Artistic activities:

Theatre - 4 productions for the Figrentheater "Fithe":

Plötzlich Pinguin

Fridolin & Friederike

Häuser erzählen Geschichten


Des Kaisers neue Kleider



2002 Christian Klinkenberg Orchestra: "Years"

2016 Christian Klinkenberg Orchestra: "Geo²" published by Neuklang

2019 KL-EX Ensemble "The Leaves That Hung But Never Grew", "Sieben Blätter", "Les feuilles qui pendaient mais ne s'ouvraient jamais" published by Neuklang


Compositions (2016-20):

The Belltower - Ballet 

The Cross of the Engaged - An Opera

String Quartet III

11 bells

The Leaves That Hung But Never Grew

How Trees Talk?

Three Mother Goose Rhymes

The Glacier - Opera 2.0



Master's degree

June 2007 @ Koninklijk Conservatorium Brussel - Composition (jazz department)

Master's degree

June 2011 @ Koninklijk Conservatorium Brussel - Composition (classical department)

PhD in the Arts

May 2020 @ Vrije Universiteit Brussel